Передзамовлення Наш формат
Інтернет-магазин Наш формат
Безкоштовна доставка

Безкоштовна доставка

Доставка здійснюється від 750 грн. за умови попередньої оплати замовлення

Автор Едвін Кетмелл, Емі Ва
Видавництво Bantam Books
Рік видання 2014
Палітурка м'яка
Оригінальна назва Creativity, Inc. Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration by Ed Catmull and Edwin E. Catmull and Amy Wa
ISBN 978-0593070109
Кількість сторінок 526
Мова англійська
Серія Non-fiction
Категорія Non-fiction іноземними мовами
Артикул 901452
Всі характеристики
Книга «Creativity, Inc.» Емі Ва, Едвін Кетмеллf

Книга «Creativity, Inc.» Емі Ва, Едвін Кетмелл

Рейтинг: 4.8

Тип книги

679 грн
Немає в наявності

Повернення товару

Відповідно до Постанови Кабінету Міністрів України від 19 березня 1994 р. №172, друковані видання належної якості обміну (поверненню) не підлягають.

Доставка

Безкоштовна доставка від 750 грн за умови попередньої оплати. Детальніше про доставку

Оплата

Готівкою при отриманні
Карткою онлайн
Безготівковий розрахунок

Опис

ПРО КНИЖКУ

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and Braintrust sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.

For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.

As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:

Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.

If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.

It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.

The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.

A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.

Do not assume that general agreement will lead to change—it takes substantial energy to move a group, even when all are on board.

ПРО АВТОРА

Ed Catmull is co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios and president of Pixar Animation and Disney Animation. He has been honored with five Academy Awards, including the Gordon E. Sawyer Award for lifetime achievement in the field of computer graphics. He received his Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Utah. He lives in San Francisco with his wife and children.

Amy Wallace is a journalist whose work has appeared in GQ, The New Yorker, Wired, Los Angeles Times, and The New York Times Magazine. She currently serves as editor-at-large at Los Angeles Times magazine. Previously, she worked as a reporter and editor at the Los Angeles Times and wrote a monthly column for The New York Times Sunday Business section. She lives in Los Angeles. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

ВІДГУКИ ПРО КНИЖКУ

Business gurus love to tell stories about Pixar, but this is our first chance to hear the real story from someone who lived it and led it. Everyone interested in managing innovation, or just in good managing, needs to read this book.

Chip Heath, co-author Switch and Decisive

Achieving enormous success while holding fast to the highest artistic standards is a nice trick—and Pixar, with its creative leadership and persistent commitment to innovation, has pulled it off. This book should be required reading for any manager.

Charles Duhigg, author of The Power of Habit

It’s one thing to be creative; it’s entirely another—and much more rare—to build a great and creative culture. Over more than thirty years, Ed Catmull has developed methods to root out and destroy the barriers to creativity, to marry creativity to the pursuit of excellence, and, most impressive, to sustain a culture of disciplined creativity through setbacks and success. Pixar’s unrivaled record, and the joy their films have added to our lives, gives his method the most important validation: it works.

Jim Collins, co-author Built to Last, author Good to Great

читати повністю

Відгуки Новий

Поділіться своїми враженнями!
Залиште свій відгук

Оцінка

Схожі товари

Сергій Плохій

Chernobyl: History of a...
906 грн
Рік видання: 2018 Палітурка: тверда Відправка: 02.05.2019
Duden Unntzes Sprachwissen:...
122 грн
Рік видання: 2012 Палітурка: м'яка Відправка: 02.05.2019

Вольфганг Рідель

Eselsbrcken: Die besten...
275 грн
Рік видання: 2015 Палітурка: м'яка Відправка: 02.05.2019

Беттіна Сноудон, Мартін Лагода

Die Tomate und das...
357 грн
Рік видання: 2016 Палітурка: тверда Відправка: 02.05.2019

Том Міллер

How I Learned English. 55...
566 грн
Рік видання: 2007 Палітурка: м'яка Відправка: 02.05.2019
Fifty Hats That Changed the...
469 грн
Рік видання: 2011 Палітурка: тверда Відправка: 02.05.2019
Fifty Bags That Changed the...
565 грн
Рік видання: 2011 Палітурка: тверда Відправка: 02.05.2019

Аннабель Стафф

Dinner Deconstructed. 35...
431 грн
Рік видання: 2017 Палітурка: тверда Відправка: 02.05.2019

Гаррі Парр, Сем Бомпас

Cocktails with Bompas & Parr
1 050 грн
Рік видання: 2012 Палітурка: тверда Відправка: 02.05.2019

Джуліан Голланд

Exploring Britain's Lost...
970 грн
Рік видання: 2013 Палітурка: тверда Відправка: 02.05.2019